The "Tonie Moxham Memorial Trophy" Report

The maximum entry of 64 competitors took to the greens at Hawcoat Park on Sunday 10th April for the Tonie Moxham Memorial Trophy, where Ian Nicholson emerged from a strong draw to defeat Darren Naylor 21-15 in the final.

On no.1 green, Darren had accounted for Steve Ashburn, Richard Sharples and Chris Whitehouse in the early rounds, before defeating Mark Curwen in the qts and home man Bob Parkinson in the semi's.

Arguably the tougher draw was over on no.2 green, where Ian accounted for Derek Bell, Ian France jnr and Mike Fieldhouse before taking on home favourite Roy Moxham in the qts and Graham Law in the semi's.

In the final, Darren got off to a flier, leading 10-4 after eight ends, only to see his early lead disintegrate over the next six ends, with the score at 11-10. Ian took charge from the 16th end, leading 12-14 at the 18th and 14-18 at the 23rd end.

It was at this point where tiredness crept into play after six games during the day, with Ian running out a worthy winner.

Anthony Holden (sponsor) and Janet Moxham, presented the prizes. Bob Stewart thanked the markers and measurers, the ladies for their work in the kitchen and A Holden's for their sponsorship.

Scores: Qtr finals: R Parkinson 21 D Mountford 14; M Curwen 16 D Naylor 21;

G Law 21 L Barnard 7; R Moxham 18 I Nicholson 21

Semi finals: R Parkinson 14 D Naylor 21; G Law 18 I Nicholson 21.